Thread: uniforms designed to reduce signature to night vision devices

Default uniforms designed to reduce signature to night vision devices

When modern military uniforms claim to be designed to reduce signature in night vision devices, how does that work? Is it some sort of special treatment the fabric has received or the colours on the uniform that have a special wavelength?

I'll make the caveat that I'm not an expert, but I've been wearing the USAF ABUs for a few months now and we have been told that properties of the fabric (not the colors) are what reduces the night vision signatures. There are strict guidelines in what detergents to use to wash the uniform, as many on the market contain "optical brighteners" that will actually enhance the night vision signature of the fabric. These detergents are highly discouraged, but a policy like that is tough to enforce unless specific detergents are issued to all personnel (which is unlikely to ever happen). Detergent labels don't mention whether they contain optical brighteners, but an unofficial rule of thumb is that most anything that advertises long lasting color, anti-fade, or other enhancements is probably a culprit. Apparently the Army did most of the legwork in determining the optical brightener problem, which also affected ACUs. They've had lots of experience researching this issue in the field during OIF/OEF and other campaigns.

I've never been issued BDUs, but I've been told that ACUs trap more body heat than them, so I guess that helps.

Quote Originally Posted by Cipher View Post
    I've never been issued BDUs, but I've been told that ACUs trap more body heat than them, so I guess that helps.
    Most night vision devices in use intensify ambient light. Heat signatures show up in thermal viewers. Two different things.

Quote Originally Posted by el borracho View Post