Page 7 of 473 FirstFirst 1234567891011121314151757107 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 105 of 7089

Thread: MPnet geek support

  1. #91
    Bush Lawyer, that's me! TheKiwi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Plotting to take control of the Cumberland Organic Farming Board. Wah ha ha ha ha ha!
    Age
    45
    Posts
    15,793

    Default

    The EEE's I have seen running XP seemed to run it OK. The only issue is that XP with SP2 (or 3) takes up at least 1.1Gb of your 4GB of storage. Throw in (say) Office 2003 or similar and you haven't much space left for games/****/data.

  2. #92
    Banned user T3ngu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Oztralia
    Age
    89
    Posts
    18,037

    Default

    No, not the ****s.

    I was thinking of getting one for travel, don't know. Bit better than carrying this sucker on the planes.

  3. #93
    Mountain Man TacoDelRio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Yosemite
    Posts
    12,702

    Default

    Got a question for all them there tech guys out there.

    This is supposed to be Need For Speed: Carbon:


    I just installed a new DVD-ROM drive. Everything in the game looks like this, and I cannot get past this screen, since I don't know what anything is.

    I updated with the latest patch... I assume this is something to do with the DVD-ROM drive drivers not agreeing with my NVIDIA GeForce 2 MX/MX400?

    Any ideas?

  4. #94
    Senior Member Chulo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    17,546

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TacoDelRio View Post
    Got a question for all them there tech guys out there.

    This is supposed to be Need For Speed: Carbon:


    I just installed a new DVD-ROM drive. Everything in the game looks like this, and I cannot get past this screen, since I don't know what anything is.

    I updated with the latest patch... I assume this is something to do with the DVD-ROM drive drivers not agreeing with my NVIDIA GeForce 2 MX/MX400?

    Any ideas?
    DVD drivers clashing with Video just seem kinda strange. Your GF2 MX400 is kinda old so upgrading that wont be a bad thing, but other than that im just not so sure what would cause that, but if the only thing you changed was your DVD then it makes sense to question that.
    Is it JUST one game that has issue? or any game you put through the DVD drive

  5. #95
    Mountain Man TacoDelRio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Yosemite
    Posts
    12,702

    Default

    It's just NFS with this problem. I just updated the GEForce driver to the latest one applicable for my card, and the probelm remains.

    I just installed the DVD-ROM drive an hour ago, with no software, just plug and play. I haven't worked on computers in a long time, so I apologise if I sound like a complete dumbass with this, but there's a power cable connected to the drive, and a data cable, but not the small, two or three (or so) pin cable that goes to the soundcard (on the normal CD drive). is this an issue?

  6. #96
    Bush Lawyer, that's me! TheKiwi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Plotting to take control of the Cumberland Organic Farming Board. Wah ha ha ha ha ha!
    Age
    45
    Posts
    15,793

    Default

    From the look of the min specs for the game, your video card is too wussy*, a 64MB GeForce 2 Ti is the absolute min.




    * Mine is the same model so don't be too insulted.

  7. #97
    Banned user T3ngu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Oztralia
    Age
    89
    Posts
    18,037

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TheKiwi View Post
    From the look of the min specs for the game, your video card is too wussy*, a 64MB GeForce 2 Ti is the absolute min.




    * Mine is the same model so don't be too insulted.
    I just replaced my 6600 pcie with a 8400EN for $40. Not such a bad thing. Give an older driver a try. If not, replacement may be the go.

  8. #98
    Senior Member Chulo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    17,546

    Default

    yea thats what i was thinking, i dont run top of the line stuff on my desktop but i had a 64mb GF2-440 about 4 years ago, you can find a good 128mb video card for under 40 bucks now

  9. #99
    Mountain Man TacoDelRio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Yosemite
    Posts
    12,702

    Default

    Thanks for the info, guys. I might go and do that.

    Thanks!

  10. #100
    Banned user Createdeemcee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Leaders of Change, Past & Present!
    Posts
    3,834

    Default

    I just installed the DVD-ROM drive an hour ago, with no software, just plug and play. I haven't worked on computers in a long time, so I apologise if I sound like a complete dumbass with this, but there's a power cable connected to the drive, and a data cable, but not the small, two or three (or so) pin cable that goes to the soundcard (on the normal CD drive). is this an issue?
    Wont be an issue, infact most pc's nowadays dont even have that cable, or an eide cable, most are now sata today. But to cutt to the chase you dont need that sound cable!

  11. #101
    Banned user T3ngu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Oztralia
    Age
    89
    Posts
    18,037

    Default

    FYI - Thought you may find interesting. Australian dollars of course.

    Eee PC XP Version Hits the Shelves

    April 7th, 2008 We spoke about the eminent release of the XP version of the Eee PC in episode 80 of the GGP. A few of you had a bit to say about it in addition to Doug sending us an audio comment. Doug thought that the inclusion of XP would make the Eee PC cost prohibitive and not worth it. I would have agreed, but for the observations of it for sale in the wild.
    It looks like the Eee PC XP version is joining the market at the same price point as the Linux version. So that took me totally by surprise. Not sure what kind of deal Asus has struck with Microsoft or if they are willing to take a hit on their margins initially to get market penetration.
    What has been confirmed is that gadgets like the Eee are prolonging the life of XP in that the ultra low PC market will be able to sell OEM XP for the next two years. While the desktop cousins and laptops will be cut off as of the 30th of June this year. Truth is that Vista would cripple the Eee and Microsoft see these platforms as a money spinner. Long live XP!
    It will be interesting to see if the dominance of the Microsoft and XP brand make this the preferred format for the Eee PC. I know, I know the geeks will still go for the Linux version, but I am talking about the poor uni student that needs something to whack out assignments on and stuff like that. There is a market for a budget mobile computing solution and now with XP the Eee PC might just fill a void. For a lot of consumers the traditional laptop just doesn’t make economic sense.
    Second I am waiting to hear how the XP version performs. XP clearly has more overheads than Linux and it will be interesting to see if this comes into play witht he Eee PC version. Keith maintains that you can tweak XP to be light and efficient, which I am sure is true. The big question is have they got the mix right?
    So what do you get for your hard earned $399? (Best Buy)
    • 900MHz Celeron
    • 512 RAM
    • 4 GB soild state memory
    • 800 x 480 screen
    • Wireless 802.11 b/g and ethernet
    • 3 USB ports
    • Camera and Mic built in
    • Windows XP Home
    Source

  12. #102
    Bush Lawyer, that's me! TheKiwi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Plotting to take control of the Cumberland Organic Farming Board. Wah ha ha ha ha ha!
    Age
    45
    Posts
    15,793

    Default

    Those aren't bad components for running XP anyway, not a super power gaming rig, but it should run OK.

    I was reading a while back about some guys who got XP to run on a 386 with 16MB of RAM. It would take over 30 minutes to boot to the point where you could see icons on the desktop. I suspect they had 64 or 128MB of RAM when they installed it, then removed most of it for this experiment.

  13. #103
    Senior Member hell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    at the local cafeteria, hitting on the lunch ladies
    Age
    33
    Posts
    3,894

    Default

    A bit off-course, but here's a link to an IT Sec doc from Symantec that gives figures and statistics for the second half of 2007: http://eval.symantec.com/mktginfo/en...2008.en-us.pdf

  14. #104
    Senior Member Chulo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    17,546

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by T3ngu View Post
    FYI - Thought you may find interesting. Australian dollars of course.

    Source
    The problem with the XP EEE is that its still $399 and they have droped out a few key features (and just a 1 year warranty, i cant seem to find that story any more) But i would consider the Eee 900 with the 9 inch screen, maybe

  15. #105
    Member LA_Operator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    God's Country - Mechanicsville, Virginia
    Posts
    179

    Default AMD Turion 64 X2 Dual-Core Mobile

    I know that there are some folks on here that probably have an greater in-depth knowledge than myself on this topic.

    I am looking into buying another HP laptop for the house, and came upon a decent deal in this week's paper. The subject laptop has a AMD Turion 64 X2 Dual-Core Mobile Processor, with a 64-bit operating system. I understand that in the future, 64-bit will be the standard for software apps and drivers. Currently, all of my software apps and drivers are 32-bit, and I understand that some may have downloadable 64-bit drivers/upgrades. I also believe that the subject processor can operate in both 32-bit and 64-bit modes.

    If I bought this laptop, would I be able to run all of my 32-bit software apps on this 64-bit system without problems? Do I have to "dumb" down the operating system to 32-bit, or operate in a "compatibility" mode? I have a pretty deep understanding of computers, etc., but I wanted to run this past a resident "professional" prior to committing to the purchase.

    Thanks in advance for your assistance.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •