Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Good Cold Weather Deer Semi-Auto Rifle

Default Good Cold Weather Deer Semi-Auto Rifle

I thought about posting this in the hunting sticky, but there wasn't much discussion regarding type of weapons and reasons why in the thread, so I figured this is just as much of a general equipment question.

I've been pheasant hunting a dozen times before, but this is my first year deer hunting. My father and his hunting buddies do a lot of drives so I'm looking to get a semi-auto and not a bolt action. It gets very cold here in Minnesota and Wisconsin and I know in years past my father and his friends have had problems with the semi-auto freezing or getting stuck when autoloading and firing. A while back my father bought a Browning BAR Safari and has never had the problem since. His buddies all followed suit and bought various caliber BAR Safaris and they have never had a problem since. However, I am not sure I want to spend $1050, when there might be a less expensive alternative.

I've been shooting since I was 6, so I don't need any advice suggesting a rifle for new shooters, I just never had the need to own my own rifle before.

I looked around on websites for reviews of various semi-autos, but everything I read had to do with the ergonomics, cleaning, accuracy etc of the weapon. I couldn't find stuff on how well it performs in the freezing cold. My possible purchases are listed below if anyone has any experience in cold weather use of these weapons let me know what you think or if you have any other suggestions they are also welcome.

Remington Model 7600 Synthetic: Win .308: $650

Ruger KMINI-30-P: Win .308: $900

BAR Lightweight Stalker: Win .308: $1050

And if I find enough quarters in my couch...

Benelli R1: Win .308: $1300

How long is your typical shot? Are you hunting in the brush?