Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Thread: So I found this on Ebay...

  1. #1

    Default So I found this on Ebay...

    I was searching on Ebay Germany when I found this: http://www.ebay.de/itm/Original-F-11...item1c29cc0d15
    Is this legit ? And if it is, is it legal ? What do you think ?

  2. #2
    Senior Member HK in AK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    quis custodiet ipsos custodes
    Age
    46
    Posts
    4,876

    Default

    Uh, no!!

    1234567890

  3. #3
    Senior Member armored_diplomacy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    At the gym, lifting non impressive weights
    Posts
    6,279

    Default

    An F-117 at e-bay ?
    Sounds legit.

  4. #4
    Senior Member tercio67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Playing with PzH2000 again
    Age
    46
    Posts
    12,953

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by armored_diplomacy View Post
    An F-117 at e-bay ?
    Sounds legit.
    Read the description, it is a 4.5x14x5 cm piece of wing.

  5. #5
    Senior Member armored_diplomacy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    At the gym, lifting non impressive weights
    Posts
    6,279

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tercio67 View Post
    Read the description, it is a 4.5x14x5 cm piece of wing.

    See? I was right to be suspicious !


    Quote Originally Posted by BrownBär View Post
    I was searching on Ebay Germany when I found this: http://www.ebay.de/itm/Original-F-11...item1c29cc0d15
    Is this legit ? And if it is, is it legal ? What do you think ?

    This is interesting:

    http://www.stripes.com/news/seller-beware-all-military-gear-not-right-for-ebay-1.32343

    http://pages.ebay.com/help/policies/military-items.html

    Not allowed
    Some of the following prohibited items are related to other eBay policies. For more information, please review the policy by clicking on the links in the list of prohibited items below.


    • Most military vehicles, including aircraft and ships, and the parts or accessories for these vehicles



  6. #6

    Default

    Yeah I heared about people getting screwed for selling Body Armor, but just take a look on Ebay and you´ll see that obviously nobody gives a fvck. But this is like the weirdest thing I´ve seen so far. An alleged part of a F 117 wing that got shot down.

  7. #7
    Senior Member armored_diplomacy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    At the gym, lifting non impressive weights
    Posts
    6,279

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BrownBär View Post
    An alleged part of a F 117 wing that got shot down.
    ^^
    Exactly, he´s either is a liar, or is looking for troubles.

  8. #8
    Doing Stupid Nyusu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    2,816

    Default

    It is an original part of the wing of the Lockheed Martin F-117 Nighthawk with the registration 82-0806, which was shot down on 27 March 1999 during the NATO airstrikes in Yugoslavia.

    The dimensions are:
    Height: 45mm
    Width: 140mm
    Depth: 50mm
    What is illegal in selling piece of metal?

  9. #9

    Default

    Yeah and I hope that anybody here knows if he´s a liar or not

  10. #10

    Default

    Its a honeycomb composite structure coated with composites, looks like the real deal to me.

  11. #11

    Default

    This piece of whatever material is said to have once been part of a stealth aircraft of the U.S.Government, so if it realy is a piece of said F 117 than it´s not just metal and i don´t know if the public is meant to get hands on this material and I think it could also still be government property.

  12. #12
    Senior Member tercio67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Playing with PzH2000 again
    Age
    46
    Posts
    12,953

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MeiJoa View Post
    Its a honeycomb composite structure coated with composites, looks like the real deal to me.
    If all the parts that were offered over time were real the USA must have lost a whole squadron.

  13. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MeiJoa View Post
    Its a honeycomb composite structure coated with composites, looks like the real deal to me.
    Thanks dude, thats what i wanted to hear.

  14. #14

    Default

    The honeycomb structure inside is probably only slightly conductive, each cell thus only reflects a tiny fraction in different angles and most of the energy is absorbed. So thats cool, wondering how its done now with modern designs.

    I know a little bit about this stuff, did a lot of electrodynamical simulations for my bachelor degree.

    It looks like it would work, at least to me this structure makes sense for this purpose.

  15. #15
    Senior Member Chulo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    17,520

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nyusu View Post
    What is illegal in selling piece of metal?
    1. Its not metal
    2. You do deserve the DAOTW award for life

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •