Military Photos  

Go Back   Military Photos > General > Off Topic and Humor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2009, 08:24 PM   #1
JohnnyWalker
Senior Member
 
JohnnyWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: ChromeMagma Server
Posts: 1,756
Default How to know if mailing is legit?

I am so afraid to respond to anything in the mail these days. How do I know if something is legit?

I have a mailing that I received. Looks all correct. It says it's from Economic Stimulus Act of 2008, 213 executive park asheville, NC 28801

It's for for debt settlement and or credit card relief? Form 009-S

Says the phone number is 1-800-481-5922


Can someone verify or tell me how to verify? I tried calling the local govement, but it said I had a hold time of 3 + hours
JohnnyWalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 08:28 PM   #2
commanding
Senior Member
 
commanding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Good day pusscake!
Age: 62
Posts: 2,253
Default

sounds like BS to me. the govt ain't gonna send you a letter saying you have to contact them in carolina to get some sweet money. (for what?) B.S.
commanding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 08:29 PM   #3
ex Strathcona
Senior Member
 
ex Strathcona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lost but making good time, over.
Age: 46
Posts: 1,666
Default

PM Macs it's the only way to be sure
ex Strathcona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 08:29 PM   #4
Shadowstorm
Senior Member
 
Shadowstorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Omaha, NE USA
Age: 23
Posts: 4,090
Default

My grandma ask me to check some of her mail like contest and advertisements. So, I Google name, the phone number, and the address of the company to see if it's real or not. Also check anti-fraud and scam sites or the BBB site which also helps.
Shadowstorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 08:32 PM   #5
JohnnyWalker
Senior Member
 
JohnnyWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: ChromeMagma Server
Posts: 1,756
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowstorm View Post
My grandma ask me to check her some of her mail like contest and advertisements. So, I Google name, the phone number, and the address of the company to see if it's real or not. Also check anti-fraud and scam sites or the BBB site which also helps.
thank you shadow. Are there anti-fraud sites that I should avoid, my sis once went to one of those and it told her that the phone number that kept appearing on her caller id was legit, she got scammed 5000 bucks. Luckily her CC company caught it.,
JohnnyWalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 08:33 PM   #6
B_706K
Senior Member
 
B_706K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Steady Rollin'
Age: 26
Posts: 1,516
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ex Strathcona View Post
PM Macs it's the only way to be sure
Your penis needs to be pictured next to said document for vital comparison though, don't forget.
B_706K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 08:33 PM   #7
ronnieraygun
I love goats; goats love me
 
ronnieraygun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Age: 36
Posts: 5,398
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyWalker View Post
I am so afraid to respond to anything in the mail these days. How do I know if something is legit?

I have a mailing that I received. Looks all correct. It says it's from Economic Stimulus Act of 2008, 213 executive park asheville, NC 28801

It's for for debt settlement and or credit card relief? Form 009-S

Says the phone number is 1-800-481-5922


Can someone verify or tell me how to verify? I tried calling the local govement, but it said I had a hold time of 3 + hours
Everyone has offered good insight, including PMing Macs for more info. http://www.usdebtrelief.org/ is a scam to prey on those who don't know better. Sell plasma if you need money now, otherwise shred this garbage.
ronnieraygun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 08:34 PM   #8
Clockwinder
Member
 
Clockwinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: St Louis Missouri USA
Posts: 289
Default

It's gotta be a scam. Send it to your State Attorney General's Office.
Clockwinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 08:52 PM   #9
Shadowstorm
Senior Member
 
Shadowstorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Omaha, NE USA
Age: 23
Posts: 4,090
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyWalker View Post
thank you shadow. Are there anti-fraud sites that I should avoid, my sis once went to one of those and it told her that the phone number that kept appearing on her caller id was legit, she got scammed 5000 bucks. Luckily her CC company caught it.,
Your welcome. On the question what anti-fraud and scam site to avoid, I don't know. However, I will give couple websites.

http://www.stop-scammers.com/bysite.asp

http://www.bbb.org/

http://800notes.com/

Also, heres's the site I found when I type in that 1-800-481-5922

http://www.usdebtrelief.org/contactus.htm

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&r...01&btnG=Search
Shadowstorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 09:24 PM   #10
Mr.K
banneterated Member
 
Mr.K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North
Posts: 4,727
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyWalker View Post
I am so afraid to respond to anything in the mail these days. How do I know if something is legit?

I have a mailing that I received. Looks all correct. It says it's from Economic Stimulus Act of 2008, 213 executive park asheville, NC 28801

It's for for debt settlement and or credit card relief? Form 009-S

Says the phone number is 1-800-481-5922


Can someone verify or tell me how to verify? I tried calling the local govement, but it said I had a hold time of 3 + hours
If it's not from a nigerian price i don't reply.
Mr.K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 09:33 PM   #11
Macs.
Car Whisperer
 
Macs.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kankermongool, Germany
Posts: 20,390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ex Strathcona View Post
PM Macs it's the only way to be sure
Yeah.

Read my nickname backwards.

















You have been mindfucked.

Bye.
Macs. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 09:35 PM   #12
JohnnyWalker
Senior Member
 
JohnnyWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: ChromeMagma Server
Posts: 1,756
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowstorm View Post
Your welcome. On the question what anti-fraud and scam site to avoid, I don't know. However, I will give couple websites.

http://www.stop-scammers.com/bysite.asp

http://www.bbb.org/

http://800notes.com/

Also, heres's the site I found when I type in that 1-800-481-5922

http://www.usdebtrelief.org/contactus.htm

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&r...01&btnG=Search
you rock. I bookmarked all those sites. Sending the letter to the CIA or state attorney
JohnnyWalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 09:58 PM   #13
locopolicia
Member
 
locopolicia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lets be damned sure that noones ghost will ever say "If your training program had only done its job"
Posts: 670
Default

Reverse address search came up with

Mel Garrett
Sunbelt Business Brokers Network, Chief Executive Officer
Phone number (828) 252-8200

Quote:
Sunbelt Business Brokers Network is a private company categorized under Brokers' Services and located in Asheville, NC. Current estimates show this company has an annual revenue of $290,000 and employs a staff of approximately 4.
Probably just advertising their services.
I'd say give him a call and ask some questions.
locopolicia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 11:29 PM   #14
West Texican
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: High Plains
Posts: 291
Default

I miss Ed McMahon. Life was simpler then and mail wasn't scary.
West Texican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 11:33 PM   #15
Arnie100
Member
 
Arnie100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 788
Default

It's worse when you see that kind of stuff in your e-mails. Sometimes it's kinda funny especially when they can't spell certain things correctly, then you KNOW it's fake!
Arnie100 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.